Cooking Your Catch

Cooking Your Catch

Most restaurants along the Destin harbor offer a “hook and cook” deal for patrons. Bring in a clean and bagged fish and let the restaurants do all the cooking for you.

Here’s a list of some of the area restaurants that offer that option.

AJs Seafood & Oyster Bar, located at 116 Harbor Blvd., will make your day easier. They will fry or blacken your fish and provide side dishes.  For more information, call 850-837-1913, or visit ajsdestin.com/.

Brotulas Seafood House & Steamer, located at 210 Harbor Blvd., will cook your fish grilled, blackened or fried. For more information, call 850-460-8900, or visit brotulas.com/.

Dewey Destins Harborside Restaurant, located at 202 Harbor Blvd., will cook up to a pound of fish per person. The chef will grill, fry, blacken or bronze your catch.  For more information, call 850-837-7525, or  visit destinseafood.com/DestinHarbor/

Jackacudas Seafood and Sushi is located in HarborWalk Village at the foot of the Destin bridge. The chef will blacken, grill, fry or pan sear your catch. The fish will be served up family style with one side.  For more information, call 850-424-3507, or visit jackacudas.com/.

Tailfins Seafood Ale House & Oyster Bar, located at 172 Harbor Blvd., will prepare your catch — fried, grilled or blackened. For more information, call 850-650-1200, or visit tailfinsdestin.com.

 

Want to Cook It Up Yourself?

There are lots of recipe variations online for fish.  Below are links to some of our favorite recipes for catch’s of the day.

Grouper

Grouper is firm enough to cook in a pan and is similar in flavor to Bass and Halibut.

Pan Seared Grouper with Balsamic Brown Butter Saucehttps://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/pan-seared-grouper-balsamic-brown-butter-sauce

Broiled Grouper Parmesan https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/103991/broiled-grouper-parmesan/

Red Snapper

Snapper has a lean, firm texture. The flesh is white, tinted pink from its red skin.  It is moist, delicate and mild and it has a sweet, fresh taste.

Pan Seared Red Snapperhttps://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/36124/pan-seared-red-snapper/

Cajun Red Snapperhttps://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/15839/cajun-red-snapper/

Gulf Coast Red Snapperhttps://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/245851/gulf-coast-red-snapper/

King Mackarel & Spanish Mackerel

Mackerel is an oily fish, high in Omega 3’s, milder in taste than Salmon.

Japanese Broiled Mackerel https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/29497/japanese-broiled-mackerel/?internalSource=staff%20pick&referringId=13341&referringContentType=Recipe%20Hub

Broiled Spanish Mackerel – https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/217274/broiled-spanish-mackerel/?internalSource=streams&referringId=13341&referringContentType=Recipe%20Hub&clickId=st_recipes_mades

Blackfin Tuna

Blackfin tuna is not sushi grade tuna but certainly provides a tasty steak great for broiling or pan searing.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Sauce – https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/103535/blackened-tuna-steaks-with-mango-salsa/?internalSource=hub%20recipe&referringContentType=Search

Marinated Tuna Steak – https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/39455/marinated-tuna-steak/?internalSource=hub%20recipe&referringContentType=Search